Meet the Fargo Parks And Recreation Board Members

These Commissioners guide the Park District with vision, leadership and strategic direction.


stacey griggs  
Stacey Griggs, President
Email Stacey

Stacey was elected to the Board in 2018. She has lived in Fargo for over 30 years and currently resides in south Fargo with her husband Wes. They raised their boys (Ben & Peter) in south Fargo and their family has been avid park users for decades. Stacey works part-time for The Apartment Movers, Inc., and has been involved in many local organizations. She looks forward to working to make Fargo an excellent place for families to live and grow.

vicki dawson

Vicki Dawson, Vice President
Email Vicki

Vicki was elected to the Board in 2018. Vicki and her husband Steve live with their two teenage sons. Vicki also has three adult stepsons, two daughters-in-law, and two young grandsons. Vicki is a Senior Risk Consultant for Federated Insurance. As a Certified Safety Professional, Vicki works with businesses to improve their safety practices. Volunteering on youth centered boards and for youth organizations has been a focus for Vicki. Fargo Parks is an important part of her family's life. They enjoy everything from the baseball fields to the tennis courts to the hockey rinks to the pools and the parks.

jerry rostad

Jerry Rostad, Commissioner 
Email Jerry

Jerry was elected to the Board in 2016. As an Assistant CIO for the North Dakota University System, he develops and implements communication strategy while serving as a liaison with the 11 institutions of the NDUS. He retired as a Captain in the Navy Reserve after 28 years of service. He serves on the Board of Directors of FM Athletics and the Roger Maris Celebrity Golf Tournament. He also volunteers with the Growing Together community garden project. Jerry and his wife Tami raised two sons and his family has been active users of Park District amenities.

dawn morgan  
Dawn Morgan, Commissioner
Email Dawn

Dawn Morgan was elected to the Fargo Park Board in 2020. She grew up on Fargo’s Northside and attended graduate school at MSUM where she focused on special education. Dawn is Executive Director of the non-profit, Spirit Room, working directly with the arts and cultural communities to provide a venue to enrich people’s lives. Dawn serves on many community boards and committees including: City of Fargo Planning Commission, the City of Fargo Master Plan Steering Committee for Neighborhood Planning, the City of Fargo Street Tree Master Plan Committee, the Jefferson Area Neighborhood Association, the Hjemkomst Scandinavian Festival and the Fargo Moorhead Heritage Society, an historic preservation organization. Dawn’s goal in everything she does is to connect people to environments which promote education, health and a safe atmosphere for everyone to enjoy.

joe deutsch  
Joe Deutsch, Commissioner
Email Joe

Joe was elected to the Board in 2006. As a Professor at North Dakota State University, Dr. Deutsch prepares Physical Education teachers and coaches to teach and coach at the public school and collegiate levels. Joe is married to his wife Brandi and has three sons. He enjoys coaching youth wrestling and football in his spare time.

jeff gunkelman clerk  
Jeff Gunkelman, Clerk

Fargo Park District Board Meetings

To view footage of the Fargo Park District Board meetings, go to our YouTube page:

Each Park Board meeting is listed by the date.